lasassee.blogg.se

Install linux on mac mini 2005 model
Install linux on mac mini 2005 model













install linux on mac mini 2005 model
  1. Install linux on mac mini 2005 model mac os x#
  2. Install linux on mac mini 2005 model mac os#
  3. Install linux on mac mini 2005 model install#
  4. Install linux on mac mini 2005 model pro#

Determine the partition where your bootable image it situated (e.g.

install linux on mac mini 2005 model

Then drag the appropriate partition (in my case, the USB external drive) to the destination field.Ħ. Select the Restore tab of Disc Utility and drag the Disk Image (or the DVD in case you have an external drive) for the Installation Media onto the Source field.ĥ. Once the drive is in the Apple Partition Map scheme.Ĥ. Make sure that the drive is formatted using an Apple Partition Map scheme, not GUID or MBR (you may need to reformat your drive to get it in this form). Select the drive in Disk Utility and then select the Partition tab. Connect your external drive and launch Disk Utility.ģ. Note: you can skip this step and make the restore directly from theDVD - just dragging the DVD into the Source field - explained in step 4.Ģ. In my case I used an external DVD (Dual Layer) drive with the Installation media to make the image - because the system doesn't recognize that drive in the Startup Manager (when I restart it while holding down Option key), neither was listed at System Preferences » Startup Disk.

Install linux on mac mini 2005 model mac os#

Start by creating the disc image of the installation media (this can be DMG, CDR, ISO or any of the disc image formats supported by Mac OS X).

Install linux on mac mini 2005 model install#

This works for PowerPC Macs that don't have a Dual Layer DVD, and you wish to install Leopard using an external USB Drive instead.ġ.

Install linux on mac mini 2005 model mac os x#

The one thing you should remember though is that it seems the farther along distros get the less customizable they are to really "make it your own".at least with Ubuntu anyway.After doing a lot of research and trying out some hints, finally I could install Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard on an iMac G5 1.8 GHz, and I would like to share with you the solution that I got. To me it's always seemed that Ubuntu was more regular everyday use friendly where a distro like Fedora or Red Hat's always been more business friendly. I really haven't noticed any performance issues or anything like that. I just dual booted Ubuntu 11.10 alongside Mac Snow Leopard. Let the person asking the question decide what "works" for Auza: No one really needs your personal opinions, especially if it seems forced. To some Linux-on-mac users out there, I would like to ask this question: What Linux distro works best with your Mac?Īlso, everyone here ranting about why "Linux works for them" and feeling the need to include their own personal distro of choice, ever just think using mac or windows and even dual booting mac and linux "Just works" for other people? To avoid extreme danger, I’ve been thinking of just upgrading to "Intrepid Ibex" and see what happens.Īs always, any suggestions are welcomed via comment. But since danger is my middle name, I will most likely try Sabayon Linux on my Macbook Pro. Putting this Gentoo-based distro on my Mac can be suicide since I’m probably on my own when I do this. I have great memories using Mepis Linux, so I want to take the plunge and test the upcoming version. Right now, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that Fedora 10 will do wonders for my Mac. I dual-booted Fedora 9 and Xubuntu before but ultimately decided to just use Xubuntu since it performed a lot better than Fedora. Like perhaps a distro that can magically help increase the battery life while decrease the hardware temperature when running.Īt the moment, I have a short list of Linux distros that could replace Xubuntu Hardy on my Mac: However, these past days, I've been considering replacing Xubuntu with a distro that hopefully has a much better hardware support out-of-the-box and could unleash the optimum performance of my Macbook Pro. Although there are few minor issues left unsolved, I'm quite happy with Xubuntu on my Mac because it simply works for me.

Install linux on mac mini 2005 model pro#

I've been using Xubuntu 8.04 “Hardy Heron” on my Macbook Pro Penryn (Early 2008 model) for several months now.















Install linux on mac mini 2005 model